MRSA VRE Rates

Paramedics by the ambulance at loading entrance

Our Rates

The method of calculation of the MRSA bacteremia infection rate for the reporting period (on a quarterly basis) is:

( Number of nosocomial patients with laboratory identification of MRSA bacteremia x 1000 ) / ( Total number of patient days in the quarter )

Where the numerator is the total number of newly identified cases for MRSA bacteremia associated with the reporting facility, for the reporting period. The denominator is the total number of in-patient days for the reporting period. There are no exclusion criteria.

The method of calculation of the VRE bacteremia infection rate for the reporting period (on a quarterly basis) is:

( Number of nosocomial patients with laboratory identification of VRE bacteremia x 1000 ) / ( Total number of patient days in the quarter )

Where the numerator is the total number of newly identified cases for VRE bacteremia associated with the reporting facility, for the reporting period. The denominator is the total number of in-patient days for the reporting period. There are no exclusion criteria.

[table caption: MRSA and VRE Rates at HGMH]

Indicator

Q3 2016-2017

Q4 2016-2017

Q1 2017-2018

Q2 2017-2018

Number of new MRSA cases

0

0

0

0

MRSA Rate

0

0

0

0

Number of new VRE cases

0

0

0

0

VRE Rate

0

0

0

0

Information for Patients and Families

Hôpital Glengarry Memorial Hospital (HGMH) takes your care and your safety very seriously and we are extremely committed to transparency. On a quarterly basis, beginning in December, we will be reporting our infection rates on our website.

If you have any questions about the information below or about our hospital's infection prevention and control program please contact Infection Prevention and Control Practitioner Joann Beckstead, R.N., C.I.C. at 613-525-2222 extension4114.

What does hospital acquired mean?

Sometimes when patients are admitted to the hospital, they can get infections. This is a hospital-acquired infection. In the case of either MRSA or VRE, this may mean that symptoms begin 72 hours after admission to the hospital;

What is Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)?

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is a type of bacteria that is resistant to certain or all types of the beta-lactam classes of antibiotics such as penicillins, penicillinase-resistant penicillins (e.g. cloxacillins and cephalosporins. MRSA are strains of S. aureus that have an MIC to oxacillin of greater than or equal to 4 mcg/ml. or contain the mecA gene coding for penicillin binding protein 2a (PBP 2a).

What is Vancomycin-resistant Enterococci (VRE)?

Enterococci are bacteria that are normally present in the human intestines and in the female genital tract and are often found in the environment. These bacteria can sometimes cause infections. Vancomycin is an antibiotic that is often used to treat infections caused by enterococci. In some instances, enterococci have become resistant to this drug and thus are called vancomycin-resistant enterococci (VRE). VRE have a minimal inhibitory concentration (MIC) to vancomycin of 32 mcg/ml. They contain the resistance genes VAN-A or VAN-B.

What are the risk factors for MRSA?

Risk factors for MRSA acquisition include invasive procedures, prior treatment with antibiotics, prolonged hospital stay, stay in an intensive care or burn unit, surgical wound infection and a close proximity to a colonized person. MRSA can also be transmitted from mother to child through breast milk.

What are the risk factors for VRE?

Risk factors for VRE include severity of underlying illness, presence of invasive devices, prior colonization with VRE, antibiotic use and length of hospital stay.

How is MRSA transmitted?

The single most important mode of transmission of MRSA in a health care setting is via transiently colonized hands of health care workers who acquire it from contact with colonized or infected patients, or after handling contaminated material or equipment. The unrecognized colonized patient presents a particular risk for transmission to other patients.

How is VRE transmitted?

The single most important mode of transmission of VRE in a health care setting is via transiently colonized hands of health care workers who acquire it from contact with colonized or infected patients, or after handling contaminated material or equipment.

How is MRSA Diagnosed?

All admitted patients are screened for MRSA, the nurse will take swabs of your nose, perianal, and any broken areas of your skin. The testing allows us to find carriers quickly and prevent the spread to other patients. The results will be reported to your physician.

How is MRSA treated?

Many bacteria live on and in the body without causing disease/infection. This is colonization. Colonization does not require treatment. These same bacteria under the right conditions can cause disease. This is infection.

MRSA can colonize in the nose, the skin and the respiratory tract. It can cause infection in the respiratory tract, in surgical sites and in the blood. Treatment depends on how sick patients are with the disease. VRE rarely causes infection.

What precautions are used to prevent the spread of MRSA in the hospital?

If you are found to carry MRSA, you will be placed in a single room or one shared with another patient with MRSA. You will be placed under special Infection Control precautions. This is to ensure that the germs cannot spread to other patients. Your medical care that you require will not be affected.

What is HGMH doing to Improve patient safety?

• Hand hygiene program with increased access to alcohol-rub based hand rub

• Screening patients on admission for silent carriage of resistant organisms

• Use of single rooms, masks, gowns, and gloves to control transmission

• Increased housekeeping resources

• Education and awareness campaigns for patients and health care providers

Contact Us

© 2018 Hôpital Glengarry Memorial Hospital, 20260 County Road 43 Alexandria, Ontario K0C 1A0

Back to top

MRSA VRE Rates

Paramedics by the ambulance at loading entrance

Nos taux

La méthode de calcul du taux d'infection par bactériémie causée par le SARM pour la période de déclaration (sur une base trimestrielle) est la suivante :

(Nombre de patients ayant une infection nosocomiale identifiée par le laboratoire comme étant une bactériémie causée par le SARM x 1000) / (Nombre total de jours/patients pendant le trimestre)

Le numérateur est le nombre total de cas nouvellement identifiés de bactériémie à SARM associée à l'établissement déclarant, pour la période de déclaration. Le dénominateur est le nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation pour la période de déclaration. Il n'y a pas de critères d'exclusion.

La méthode de calcul du taux d'infection par bactériémie à ERV pour la période de déclaration (sur une base trimestrielle) est la suivante :

(Nombre de patients nosocomiaux avec identification en laboratoire de la bactériémie à ERV x 1000 ) / (Nombre total de jours/patients pendant le trimestre)

Le numérateur est le nombre total de nouveaux cas de bactériémie à ERV associés à l'établissement déclarant, pour la période de déclaration. Le dénominateur est le nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation pour la période de déclaration. Il n'y a pas de critères d'exclusion.

Taux de SARM et d'ERV à l'HGMH
IndicateurT3 2016-2017T4 2016-2017T1 2017-2018T2 2017-2018
Nombre de nouveaux cas de SARM 0 0 0 0
Taux de SARM 0 0 0 0
Nombre de nouveaux cas d'ERV 0 0 0 0
Taux d'ERV 0 0 0 0

Information à l'intention des patients et de leur famille

L'Hôpital Glengarry Memorial Hospital (HGMH) prend vos soins et votre sécurité très au sérieux de même que la transparence nous tient fortement à cœur. À partir de décembre, nous publierons nos taux d'infection sur notre site Web sur une base trimestrielle.

Si vous avez des questions sur les renseignements ci-dessous ou sur le programme de prévention et de contrôle des infections de notre hôpital, veuillez communiquer avec Joann Beckstead, I.A. C.P.C.I., notre praticienne du contrôle et de la prévention des infections, au 613.525.2222, poste 4114.

Que signifie une infection nosocomiale?

Il arrive parfois que les patients qui sont admis à l'hôpital attrapent une infection. C'est une infection nosocomiale. Dans le cas du SARM ou de l'ERV, cela peut signifier que les symptômes apparaissent dans les 72 heures après l'admission à l'hôpital.

Qu'est-ce que le staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline (SARM)?

Le staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline (SARM) est un type de bactéries résistantes à certains ou à tous les types d'antibiotiques appartenant aux classes des bêta-lactamines, telles que les pénicillines, les pénicillines résistantes à la pénicillinase (ex. les cloxacillines et les céphalosporines.) Les SARM sont des souches de S. aureus qui ont une CMI à l'oxacilline de 4 µg/ml ou plus ou qui contiennent le code génétique mecA de la protéine 2a (PBP 2a) se fixant à la pénicilline.

Qu'est-ce que l'entérocoque résistant à la vancomycine (ERV)?

Les entérocoques sont des bactéries qui sont normalement présentes dans les intestins humains et dans les voies génitales féminines, présentes aussi souvent dans le milieu ambiant. Ces bactéries peuvent parfois causer des infections. La vancomycine est un antibiotique souvent utilisé pour traiter les infections causées par les entérocoques. Dans certains cas, les entérocoques deviennent résistants à ce médicament et sont donc appelés entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine (ERV). Les ERV ont une concentration minimale inhibitrice (CMI) pour la vancomycine de 32 µg/ml ou plus. Ils contiennent les gènes de résistance VAN-A ou VAN-B.

Quels sont les facteurs de risque de SARM?

Les facteurs de risque pour l'acquisition du SARM incluent les interventions invasives, le traitement préalable aux antibiotiques, l'hospitalisation prolongée, le séjour dans une unité de soins intensifs ou une unité de soins aux brûlés, une infection à la plaie chirurgicale et la proximité étroite d'une personne colonisée. Le SARM peut aussi être transmis de la mère à l'enfant par le lait maternel.

Quels sont les facteurs de risque d'ERV?

Les facteurs de risque d'ERV incluent la gravité de la maladie sous-jacente, la présence de dispositifs invasifs, la colonisation préalable à l'ERV, l'utilisation d'antibiotiques et la durée de l'hospitalisation.

Comment le SARM est-il transmis?

Le mode de transmission le plus important du SARM dans le milieu des soins de santé, c'est par les mains temporairement colonisées des travailleurs de la santé qui l'acquièrent au contact des patients colonisés ou infectés, ou après avoir manipulé du matériel ou de l'équipement contaminé. Les patients colonisés non identifiés présentent un risque particulier de transmission aux autres patients.

Comment l'ERV est-il transmis?

Le mode de transmission le plus important de l'ERV dans le milieu des soins de santé, c'est par les mains temporairement colonisées des travailleurs de la santé qui l'acquièrent au contact des patients colonisés ou infectés, ou après avoir manipulé du matériel ou de l'équipement contaminé.

Comment le SARM et l'ERV sont-ils diagnostiqués?

Tous les patients admis font l'objet d'un dépistage du SARM; l'infirmière prélèvera des écouvillons de votre nez, de votre périanale et de toute zone de peau brisée. Les tests nous permettent de trouver rapidement des porteurs et d'empêcher la propagation à d'autres patients. Les résultats seront transmis à votre médecin.

Comment le SARM est-il traité?

Bon nombre de bactéries vivent dans l'organisme et sur le corps sans causer de maladie ou d'infection. C'est ce qu'on appelle une colonisation. Celle-ci ne requiert aucun traitement. Toutefois, ces mêmes bactéries, dans d'autres conditions, peuvent entraîner la maladie. C'est ce qu'on appelle une infection.

Le SARM peut coloniser le nez, la peau et les voies respiratoires. Il peut causer une infection dans les voies respiratoires, dans les champs opératoires (parties et organes où se pratique une opération) et dans le sang. Le traitement dépend de l'intensité de la maladie du patient. L'ERV cause rarement une infection.

Quelles précautions l'hôpital utilise-t-il pour prévenir la propagation du SARM et de l'ERV dans l'hôpital?

Si les résultats du test indiquent que vous êtes porteur du SARM, vous serez placé dans une chambre privée ou avec un autre patient atteint de SARM. Vous serez soumis à des précautions spéciales pour la prévention des infections. Ces précautions visent à éviter la transmission des bactéries aux autres patients. Les soins médicaux dont vous avez besoin ne seront pas touchés.

Que fait l'HGMH pour améliorer la sécurité des patients?

  • Mise en place d'un programme d'hygiène des mains incluant l'usage accru du gel d'alcool
  • Test de dépistage administré aux patients dès l'admission pour détecter les porteurs « muets » des organismes résistants
  • Utilisation de chambres privées, de masques, de blouses et de gants pour combattre la transmission de l'infection
  • Augmentation des ressources affectées à l'entretien ménager
  • Éducation et campagne de sensibilisation des patients et des travailleurs de la santé
Contactez Nous