Off-site Specialists

outside view of hospital

Off-site specialists

people speaking using a webcamOur hospital can provide patients with the opportunity to have their health care closer to home. There are more and more physicians, advanced care nurses, and allied health professionals conducting clinics over telemedicine.

What is telemedicine?

"Telemedicine" or "Telehealth" is the delivery of health-related services and information using telecommunications technologies. The Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN) is an independent, not-for-profit organization that is funded by the Government of Ontario. Using two-way videoconferencing systems and tele-diagnostic instruments like a digital stethoscope and a patient examination camera, OTN helps deliver clinical care and professional education among health care providers and patients closer to home.

What are the advantages of telemedicine?

Using telemedicine to access off-site specialists is beneficial in many ways:

  • Less distance to drive
  • Less time to spend on the road
  • Fewer parking fees
  • Less time to wait for consultation
  • Comfort of being in a familiar environment

What specialties can be accessed through telemedicine?

Telemedicine specialties offered at HGMH include:

  • Cardiology
  • Cardiac rehab
  • Pre assessment unit
  • Adult & child mental health
  • Oncology
  • Hematology
  • Thrombosis
  • Infectious diseases
  • Palliative care
  • Pain clinic
  • Cardiac telehome monitoring

How can patients get a telemedicine referral?

Patients can ask their physician if their appointment can be done over telemedicine. The physician's office will contact the HGMH Telemedicine Coordinator to see if this is feasible and how to initiate the process. Please be aware that not all physician consultants have telemedicine clinics.

If the physician consultant is willing to see the patient via telemedicine, the referring physician's office and the HGMH Telemedicine Coordinator will organize the appointment and contact the patient with details of the telemedicine appointment.

Who to contact for more information?

The Telemedicine Coordinator can be contacted at 613.525.2222 x4119

Contact Us

© 2018 Hôpital Glengarry Memorial Hospital, 20260 County Road 43 Alexandria, Ontario K0C 1A0

Back to top

Spécialistes externes

outside view of hospital

people speaking using a webcamNotre hôpital peut offrir aux patients la possibilité de recevoir leurs soins de santé plus près de chez eux. De plus en plus de médecins, d'infirmières en soins avancés et de professionnels de la santé dirigent des cliniques de télémédecine.

Qu'est-ce que la télémédecine?
La « télémédecine » ou « télésanté » permet de livrer des services et des renseignements liés à la santé au moyen de technologies de télécommunication. Le Réseau Télémédecine Ontario (OTN) est un organisme indépendant à but non lucratif financé par le gouvernement de l'Ontario. À l'aide de systèmes de visioconférence bidirectionnels et d'instruments de télédiagnostic tels qu'un stéthoscope numérique et une caméra d'examen des patients, OTN permet de dispenser des soins cliniques et une formation professionnelle aux fournisseurs de soins de santé et aux patients plus près de chez eux.
Quels sont les avantages de la télémédecine?

Le recours à la télémédecine pour accéder à des spécialistes externes présente plusieurs avantages :

  • moins de distance à parcourir
  • moins de temps à passer sur la route
  • moins de frais de stationnement
  • moins de temps d'attente pour la consultation
confort d'être dans un environnement familier
Quelles spécialités sont accessibles grâce à la télémédecine?

Les spécialités offertes par la télémédecine à l'HGMH incluent :

  • cardiologie
  • réadaptation cardiaque
  • unité de pré-évaluation
  • santé mentale des adultes et des enfants
  • oncologie
  • hématologie
  • thrombose
  • maladies infectieuses
  • soins palliatifs
  • clinique de la douleur
télémonitorage cardiaque à domicile
Comment les patients peuvent-ils se faire référer en télémédecine?

Les patients peuvent demander à leur médecin si leur rendez-vous peut être fait par télémédecine. Le bureau du médecin contactera le coordonnateur de télémédecine de l'HGMH pour voir si cela est faisable et savoir comment lancer le processus. Sachez que tous les médecins consultants ne disposent pas de cliniques de télémédecine. 

 

Si le médecin consultant accepte de recevoir le patient par télémédecine, le bureau du médecin traitant et le coordonnateur de télémédecine de l'HGMH organisent le rendez-vous et contactent le patient pour lui fournir des détails sur le rendez-vous.  
Avec qui pouvez-vous communiquer pour un supplément d'information?

CONTACTER

Coordonnateur de télémédecine

Téléphone : 613.525.2222, poste 4119

Contactez Nous